November 24, 2009

cooking! frenzy!

Posted in cooking, food politics, veganism, vegetarianism at 9:30 pm by riseyp

While I may not completely reach my friend Foo’s special brand of Crazy this Thanksgiving, I am still getting into the spirit. After cupcakes and cookie decorating on Saturday followed by a homemade Thai curry dinner, then fantastique French onion soup on Sunday, tonight I made this black bean soup and it was the easiest, fastest, delishest thing. Thank you, StumbleUpon!!

I love my new book, Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World. Polished off the last mocha cupcake with coffee-flavored “butter”cream frosting tonight :) And can’t wait to sample the next flavor that catches my eye!

Here’s what I’m making for Thanksgiving:

And please allow me to count the ways in which I’ll insert my subversive, hippie food agenda into the meal:

  1. I’m buying a free-range turkey (my mom will be cooking it) for ridiculous amounts of money. Otherwise I just don’t eat meat these days…
  2. The cornbread for the stuffing recipe above will be made using a homemade skillet cornbread recipe from Veganomicon, plus Earth Balance and egg replacer
  3. I’m making a small portion of┬áthe cornbread stuffing just for me, which will be flavored with Tofurky (italian sausage flavor) instead of bacon

All in all, I’m definitely looking forward to it :)

3 Comments »

  1. Amy said,

    I make a veggie cornbread-apple-onion-”sausage” stuffing every year and I’ve had great results with the “Gimme Lean” sausage that comes in a tube. I think it’s just as good as the real stuff, and I thought so even before I stopped eating meat. How did yours turn out?

  2. riseyp said,

    It turned out well! That Tofurky italian sausage is the shit. Not to mention perfect cast iron skillet cornbread! I also love Gimme Lean. Each has its own distinct texture. The Tofurky is firm, dry and spicier, while Gimme Lean is moist, almost mushy (though not in a bad way) and more subtly flavored.

    For Xmas, I made another vegan stuffing – roasted chestnuts, white beans and butternut squash with caramelized onion (recipe from Veganomicon). It was even better than the Thanksgiving stuffing!

    J & I just agreed that we need to invite you two over for dinner!!!!

  3. Amy said,

    If you haven’t tried it yet, check out the “Celebration Roast” made by the Field Roast people. We both like it better than Tofurkey. It’s even good cold.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

